Return to the Rogues Gallery

E. Gary Gygax

Born July 27, 1938.

The energy without which roleplaying would not have existed as we have come to know it. Founded TSR, Gen Con and Dungeons and Dragons.

E. Gary Gygax, co-founder and active member of the Lake Geneva International Federation of Wargamers wrote the Chainmail rules with Jeff Perren in 1966 and co-created the D&D Game in 1973. In 1975, Gygax became the first and only employee of TSR, earning $85 per week. His congenial partner was Dave Arneson. In the years 1976-79, Gygax created the ADVANCED DUNGEONS & DRAGONS game. In 1980, Gary Gygax' campaign world GREYHAWK was released as first official AD&D campaign setting.

Gygax is the author of many important D&D and AD&D rulebooks. From the beginning until 1985 he is easily the single most influential game designer. The First Edition of AD&D is pure Gygax.

In 1985, he debuted as successful novelist with the first volume of his Gord the Rogue series (seven books). Gygax left TSR around 1986 after Lorraine Williams had taken over the company. Gygax started a new venture, New Infinities Productions. The company went bankrupt shortly thereafter. When Peter Adkinson saved TSR Inc. through buying it, Gygax applauded.

One of E. Gary Gygax' latest projects is the Lejendary Adventure™ game system. Even more recently (2003), he's contributing D20 material and even has a column in the Dragon. Find more information about the godfather of AD&D in our History of AD&D section.

E. Gary Gygax died in the morning of March 4, 2008 in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin at the age of 69 years.

Picture taken from Sea of Death

1971 Author Chainmail
1974 Author and Editor D&D Woodgrain Set
1975 Author and Editor D&D White/OCE Box Set
1975 Author D&D Supplement I GREYHAWK
1975 Special Thanks D&D Supplement II Blackmoor
1976 Author D&D Supplement III Eldritch Wizardry
1976 Author D&D Supplement V Swords & Spells
1976 Author The Lost Caverns of Tsojconth
1976 Development and Redesign LANKHMAR Table Game
1976 Design Dungeon Geomorphs Set One: Basic Dungeon
1977 Design Monster Manual
1977 Design Dungeon Geomorphs Set Two: Caves & Caverns
1977 Design Dungeon Geomorphs Set Three: Lower Dungeons
1977 Design Outdoor Geomorphs Set 1: Walled City
1978 Author D&D Basic Set
1978 Design Players Handbook
1978 Author G1: Steading of the Hill Giant Chief
1978 Author G2: Glacial Rift of the Frost Giant Jarl
1978 Author G3: Hall of the Fire Giant King
1978 Author D1: Descent into the Depths of the Earth
1978 Author D2: Shrine of the Kuo-Toa
1978 Author D3: Vault of the Drow
1978 Author S1: Tomb of Horrors
1979 Design Dungeon Masters Guide
1979 Author T1: The Village of Hommlet
1980 Design Dungeon Geomorphs Sets One - Three
1980 Creator and Writer GREYHAWK: The World of Greyhawk
1980 Author B2: The Keep on the Borderlands
1980 Author Q1: Queen of the Demonweb Pit
1981 Author D&D Basic Set (Otus Cover)
1981 Author D&D Expert Set (Otus Cover)
1981 Author D1-2: Descent into the Depths of the Earth
1981 Author D3: Vault of the Drow
1981 Author G1-2-3: Against The Giants
1981 Author S1: Tomb of Horrors
1981 Author S3: Expedition to the Barrier Peaks
1982 Author GREYHAWK: The Forgotten Temple of Tharizdun
1982 Design and Development S4: The Lost Caverns of Tsojcanth
1982 Author T1: The Village of Hommlet
1983 Author D&D Basic Set (Red Box)
1983 Author D&D Expert Set (Blue Box)
1983 Author Monster Manual
1983 Author Players Handbook
1983 Author Dungeon Masters Guide
1983 Author Monster Manual II
1983 Author EX1 Dungeonland
1983 Author EX2 The Land Beyond the Magic Mirror
1983 Writer GREYHAWK: World of Greyhawk
1984 Author D&D Companion Rules
1984 Author AC4: Book of Marvelous Magic
1984 Author GREYHAWK: Mordenkainen's Fantastic Adventure
1985 Author Unearthed Arcana
1985 Author and Concept Oriental Adventures
1985 Author T1-4: The Temple of Elemental Evil
1985 Design GREYHAWK: Isle of the Ape
1985 Author GREYHAWK: Saga of Old City
1986 Author GDQ1-7 Queen of the Spiders
1986 Author GREYHAWK: Artifact of Evil
1987 Design S1-4 Realms of Horror
1987 Author GREYHAWK: Sea of Death
1987 Author GREYHAWK: Night Arrant
1987 Author GREYHAWK: City of Hawks
1987 Author Role-playing Mastery
1988 Author GREYHAWK: Come Endless Darkness
1988 Author GREYHAWK: Dance of Demons
1999 Author TSR Silver Anniversary Collector's Edition: History Booklet

Impressum (Imprint)